Little Wings & Maher Shalal Hash Baz
Moone Records
Catalog #

12"$20out of print
MP3$6.99buy now

all tracks
1. Old Wind [Little Wings] 8:14
2. Arco Iris [Little Wings] 2:56
3. Mousou Tokkyu [Maher Shalal Hash Baz] 2:26
4. Sorewo Yamereba [Maher Shalal Hash Baz] 1:00
5. Switch Back [Maher Shalal Hash Baz] 3:38
6. These Days [Maher Shalal Hash Baz] 3:48
7. Too Many Wives [Maher Shalal Hash Baz] 2:01

about this product
Kyle Field and Tori Kudo are living legends. Their respective works in the ensembles Little Wings and Maher Shalal Hash Baz have inspired international acclaim and unique cult followings. The two have captivated listeners for decades. Kyle, notably through his loose, melodic arrangements and catchy songwriting. Tori, through his experimental compositions and the use of amateur musicians.

Kyle’s side of ‘Share’ features a lengthy track named, ‘Old Wind’, which sounds reminiscent of the free-form folk of his earlier works as Little Wings. He’s paired this with a field recording named, ‘Arco Iris’, through which he describes people and places from his native surroundings. It follows ‘Old Wind’ like music over credits rolling.

Tori’s side features new and old songs by MSHB. These tracks manifest characteristics of blues, jazz, country, and rock’n’roll, but with Tori’s inventive avant-garde flavor. The tracks ‘Switch Back’ and ‘Too Many Wives’ were reimagined for this album. Tori’s daring spirit is telling on these recordings.

What can be said to compare the music of Little Wings and Maher Shalal Hash Bash is that Kyle and Tori aren’t preoccupied by ideas of perfection or nostalgia. At the core, they are both punk and are deliberately pushing against expectation.

For the new listener, we hope ‘Share’ serves as a gateway into the rich catalogs of music by Kyle Field and Tori Kudo. For those familiar, it is a notable addition to their expansive discography.